All About Tara · Collab Cooks · Cooking · Meatless Monday

Meatless Mondays – Kidney Bean and Quinoa Burgers – No Bun!

Kidney Bean and Quinoa Burgers

blog final 2]
Red bean and quinoa patties over a bed of sauteed cabbage topped with avocado

I love vegetarian and vegan cuisine! In 2014, I fell way off the natural food wagon a few times when I traveled the country sampling various dishes. You know what they say, when in Rome… Anyway, since I have a no meat diet, I try to get as creative as possible with common ingredients. Quinoa is one of my favorite grains next to rice but sooo much healthier. Over the weekend, I made these amazing red bean and quinoa burgers for my roommate and I. I am not a chef by any means and I don’t typically follow recipes. I find Pinterest dishes or a recipe in a magazine and try it at home. I don’t typically measure. I’m more of a Rachel Ray meets Jamie Oliver (because he has no formal culinary training).

I first tried this recipe in 2013 with black beans instead of red beans and boy was it filling! I have recently become a fan of kidney beans (thanks Chipotle!) I love the sweetness this nutty bean adds to dishes. So I decided to give it a try with red quinoa! This dish is packed with iron, protein, fiber, potassium, magnesium, good carbs, and flavor!

blog 1 mmI began by making traditional red quinoa. When cooking this grain, add a good pinch of salt to the water prior to boiling for added flavor. You can also use vegetable stock or chicken stock if you eat meat. I was being a bit lazy (don’t look at me with those judgmental eyes) and a bit resourceful at the same time by using what I had on hand at home – canned red beans in chili sauce mixed with a low sodium can of kidney beans.                   BLOG 2 MM

15 minutes to prep

20 minutes to cook

In a mixing bowl, I added the quinoa, kidney beans, and diced white onions. To this I add:

1/2 teaspoon cayenne

1/4 teaspoon of cumin

1/2 teaspoon of coriander

1 teaspoon of black pepper

1 teaspoon of garlic salt

1 teaspoon of garlic powder to the mix.

Quite honestly, I eye ball everything when adding spices.  I would suggest less cayenne if you don’t like spicy dishes and just a dash of cumin since it can be a bit strong in flavor.
blog 3 mm

I pulse all the ingredients in a food processor then I transfer the blended items to a mixing bowl. Cooking can be fun and experimental. I did not want to add an egg to bind the ingredients so I made two batches, one by adding Italian panko crumbs which are larger in size then one dish with traditional Italian crumbs. I also selected half to bake and half to cook on the stovetop. I personally prefer the stovetop method using coconut oil. The oven is healthier by just a hair but takes longer to cook. blog mm

blog mm bBake these patties in the oven on 385 for 10 minutes each. I used parchment paper for the easy clean up. The entire dish takes about 15 mins to prep and 20 mins to cook.  I sauteed cabbage and topped the patty with sliced avocado! Let me know how your kidney bean and quinoa burgers turn out. Let me know what you did differently in the comments!

Have a yummy week! #nomnomnom

blog final 1

Leave a Reply

