All About Tara · Food Creations · Personal

Fresh Fish in a Green Curry Sauce {Recipe}

Over the weekend, I had a craving for fresh fish and Publix had a sale on all seafood! Talk about a food win-win! I took some inspiration from a grilled halibut recipe with a coconut-red curry sauce over rice. I’m on my “fit and fine” workout plan so I can only have rice, potatoes, bread and carbs on cheat day. My local grocery store didn’t have fresh halibut so I opted for a similar flaky fish – Cod. I selected green curry over red curry and served it with a light sauteed kale.

Like I mentioned in this previous post, I am not that great at properly measuring ingredients. I am a home cook so I eye ball the amount of seasoning and taste as I cook. I also have a tendency to get so caught up in cooking and creating, that I forget to take pictures! I have a few for you today, no worries.

Ingredients

  • 1 Whole Cod cut into 4 pieces
  • 1/2 cup chopped green onions
  • 1/2 cup thinly sliced white onions
  • 1 tablespoon grated peeled fresh ginger
  • 1/2 cup of thinly sliced red and yellow peppers
  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • 1 tablespoon coconut oil
  • 2 tablespoon green curry paste
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground coriander
  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh basil (or a couple of shakes of dried basil)
  • 1 teaspoons fresh lemon juice
  • Salt and Pepper
  • 1 teaspoon of sriracha

Start by adding the coconut oil in a deep saute pan. Season the cod with light kosher salt, pepper and ground coriander then add it to the pan. Cook fish for 4-5 minutes on medium high heat on each side. Once the fish becomes flaky, squeeze a lemon over the fish, remove it from the heat and set aside but keep warm.

In the same pan, I added ginger, white onions, and peppers and cook for 3 minutes. I incorporated the coconut milk, the green chili paste, and sriracha for a bit more heat. Stir occasionally when the milk begins to bubble and add one half of the green onions until the sauce begins to bubble. As the sauce curry begins to bubble and thicken, add the cooked fish into the sauce and simmer all ingredients for an additional 5 minutes. Remove from heat and let the dish rest for 5 minutes before serving.

Finally, add garlic and chicken broth in a separate pan, simmer to infuse the garlic, add the kale with a bit of garlic salt and the remaining green onions. Cook until bright in color and soft. Let cool for 3-5 minutes before plating.

NOTE: Always taste as you cook, if it is under-seasoned for you, add a bit more salt to the pan.  If you want a more smoky flavor instead of spicy, add smokey seasonings like cumin, smoked paprika and more ground cumin to your fish. You can feel free to add chopped garlic to the veggies before adding the coconut milk for added flavor as well.

Fresh Cod Fish
Fresh Cod Fish
Green onions, peppers, white onions...
Green onions, peppers, white onions…
Ingredients minus the seasonings
Ingredients minus the seasonings
Simmer and infuse ingredients together.
Simmer and infuse ingredients together.

 

The Finished Dish!
The Finished Dish!

Let me know how it turned out and what changes, if any that you made to this dish! It was my first time making this dish and I’m in love with green curry at home!

Cheers!

 

~T

Leave a Reply

