All About Tara · Personal

And I Will Always Love You

On February 11, 2012, the world was shocked to hear of the sudden death of Whitney Houston. This year we’ve lost several musical greats and it’s only the second month!  This particular loss was an emotional one for me and unexpected for many of us. I try to stick with positive content through my blog and I struggled with posting this. But before she is laid to final rest, I wanted to say a few words about one of my musical icons.

I fell in love with music when I was 8 or 9 and before I knew what I wanted to do with my life, I wanted to sing. Few people know this about me but I used to sing in my middle and high school chorus. I also sang and directed my college gospel choir during my freshman year. When I was angry, sad, smitten or just bored, I would write songs, perform songs and listen to the same song for hours until I knew every last word.

Music is a major part of my life. Through music, we are connected to total strangers. We have an odd way of getting to know Artists that we may never meet in person. Whitney connected us through her amazing voice. We fell in love, we danced, we got over a cheating ex, we became empowered as women and we wanted to change the world. 

She gave us her gift and her personal life or personal struggles were hers to battle and fight. We cannot judge her personal life because that was the one thing we know nothing about. We only know and can comment on her voice, her performances, and her style. Even when it seemed like she was at her worse, she came on stage and she sang with all that she had. She broke world records with her long list of awards and accomplishments.  She showed us courage, strength and passion. I pray for her family, her only child and her friends who loved her. The world, will always love  you, Whitney Houston. 

Dear Whitney,

Please say hello to Etta, Don, Luther, Heavy D, Amy, Gil, Gerald, Nick Ashford and of course, MJ.  Tell em’ we won’t forget and thanks for leaving us your musical gifts. May you all… Rest In Peace

Cheers!

~T~

Leave a Reply

